My Ducks are leaving....

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Thompsonv, Dec 2, 2016.

1. Thompsonv

Thompsonv Just Hatched

Jun 15, 2016
    Kenduskeag, Maine
    I'm still kinda new to duck ownership but we have one male and one female rouen. I raised them from a week old and they are usually pretty self sufficient. They don't normally wander off or if they do it's not far, however over the past week they have wound up on the neighbors front lawn and I believe the house across from us. When I come outside and make a lot of noise or they hear my dog barking it's almost like a call for them to come home and they slowly find their way back. But both of these places are further than I want them to roam and although they get along with my dogs I'm scared they may not have fear of other dogs who might not be as nice. They have a small enclosed pen I have been locking them in lately as "punishment" for leaving haha but this isn't fool proof. I like to let them roam mainly cause their pen is so small but i'm not sure what to do. Are they getting bored cause no one is outside or are they looking for a new owner or what lol? I was just curious if others have had issues of their ducks roaming this far. Clint and Crackers thank you in advance!
    [​IMG]

2. FoodFreedomNow

FoodFreedomNow Chillin' With My Peeps

That's a cute pair! My ducks would wander, too, if I didn't clip wings and, more importantly, fence them in. They're just curious creatures, and I don't think the wandering necessarily means that they're unhappy at home.