My First Chick!!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by BlueCamas, Jan 26, 2012.

1. BlueCamas

BlueCamas Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 25, 2011
    Milwaukie, Oregon
    This is my first time attempting to incubate eggs and 5 out of 8 made it to lock down. Today was day 22 and when I came home from school there was a little fuzzy butt in the bator! [​IMG]I honestly didn't expect any to hatch and now I have to pull a brooder together quickly. He's still in the bator and not fully dried off. What do I do? When do I take him out? He is currently sleeping on a shred of paper towel I gave him so he could get off the mesh. I have a brooder, but I have 4 week olds in there. I have chick starter but he doesn't need to eat or drink until tomorrow right? Sorry guys, I'm just a bit panicked! [​IMG]
    Here he is!
    The weirdest thing is that he has very light feathering on his legs! [​IMG]He is positively a purebred Bantam Plymouth Rock. I have the parents, and some chicks that the mother hatched herself had clean legs. What's going on!?! Some genetic blooper?
    [​IMG]

2. chicklover16

chicklover16 queen of flirts

Jun 3, 2011
    Em's Dungeon
    just get a cardboard box with a light bulb over it for a makeshift brooder and put him in it as soon as possible. I would give him food and water right away, Where did you hear not to give it to him until tomorow? and congradulations on the adorable baby!

3. BlueCamas

Aug 25, 2011
    Milwaukie, Oregon
    I just that they don't need to eat for a day because they are still absorbing you yolk. The main reason I have left him in the brooder is because I don't have another light bulb! My brooder is huge so do you think I could put him in a box w/ food and water on paper towels and put it in the brooder under the heat lamp? I just don't want the older chicks to find a way in the box and hurt him. Oh and btw, he just hatched about an hour ago.

4. chicklover16

Jun 3, 2011
    Em's Dungeon