My first coop. I'm new to chickens of my own.

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Renthorin, Jun 15, 2011.

1. Renthorin

Renthorin Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 13, 2011
    Dexter Michigan
    Greetings. This is my first post. I've worked on farms with chickens before but never had any of my own. I live on 2 heavily treed acres in the middle of the woods and have decided to raise chickens. I plan to eat some of the eggs but give the rest to my dogs (yum). Probably give some to my folks so I don't get yelled at [​IMG]

I will be building the coop this weekend. Here are my plans:

floor size = 8x7
    Back wall 6 feet high
    front wall 7 feet high (lean-to style)
    Height off ground = about 6 inches. Enough to discourage critters from living under there.
    Floor covering = sand. Was going to use wood chips but heard good things about contractor sand.
    Three windows on the W, E, and S sides. Plexiglass on the outside when it's cold, chicken wire on the inside in the summer for ventilation.

Outside run will be attached to coop and is 12 x 6 kennel fencing. 6 feet high and covered with chain link fence.
    I will be fencing in a 1/4 acres in the front for them to free range. This section of fence can be moved to different parts of the yard to give them fresh bugs.

Any suggestions or concerns with what I'm planning? I aim for 10 chickens.

Will

Last edited: Jun 15, 2011
  2. cupman

cupman Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2011
    Portland, OR