My hen sounds like a Rooster

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Hen--rietta, Dec 13, 2014.

1. Hen--rietta

Hen--rietta New Egg

Dec 13, 2014
    Maui Hawaii
    My hens were given as a gift. They are Rhode Island Reds.. about 7 months old. I am new to chickens but I really enjoy them. We started with 3 hens , 1 escaped and got attacked you a neighborhood dog. We have 2 left and they sure are spolied. Just a couple days ago rhode runner started making this weird rooster like sound every morning at about 630am. I'm worried she may be a he. Do hens ever make these noises? It's only a few times until I go give her some food. They are free range so they spend the rest of the day sitting around in the sun.

2. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Welcome to BYC [​IMG] Glad you joined us! Hens sometimes make crowing noises and some hens actually crow, believe it or not! If you post pics in the What Breed Or Gender is This? forum section we'll be able to tell you what you've got.

3. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    [​IMG] Glad you joined us!

Some hens do crow, but more often than not, a crowing "hen" is a rooster. If you post in the What Breed or Gender is This? section of the forums (link provided by Sumi), we should be able to sex your crower.

4. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

Older hens can start crowing. But if this is a young bird, chances are it is a rooster. Definitely post a pic in our What Breed and Gender section. Sumi has left you with the link.

Sorry for your losses. It is never easy to lose them. Enjoy your babies!

5. Gerard Dawn

Gerard Dawn Out Of The Brooder

Sep 5, 2014
    USA