1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

My new hens have an odor.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Chickmagnet9, Nov 16, 2011.

1. Chickmagnet9

Chickmagnet9 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 16, 2011
    Hello!

This is my first time posting on this site and what a wonderful site it is so, I signed up! Anyway, I just got a few new hens. They are approximately 5 months old and boy, do they have an odor. They are clean, appear very healthy, clear eyes, nostrils, beaks, etc. They still have all their feathers so I imagine they won't molt until next season. My other hens don't smell even a little bit; never have. Any thoughts or suggestions?

Much thanks,
    me.[​IMG]

2. CheerioLounge

CheerioLounge Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2011
    California High Desert
    [​IMG] from Twentynine Palms.

Can you describe the odor?

3. justbugged

justbugged Head of the Night Crew for WA State

Jan 27, 2009
    Enumclaw
    Welcome from the soggy side of Washington State. I am not sure of a good reason that some of the hens smell. It is possible that different breeds smell different.

4. S&N Livestock

S&N Livestock Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 17, 2009
    southern ohio
    [​IMG] from Ohio

5. BrattishTaz

BrattishTaz Roo Magnet

Jan 8, 2011
    Tampa Area, Florida
    It could just be from the diet they were on. I noticed when my roo started hanging out at the neighbor's house, he smelled very sweet. Later I found out they had been feeding him corn tortillas.

Last edited: Nov 17, 2011
  6. Chickmagnet9

Nov 16, 2011
    OHMYGOSH!