1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

My new temporary brooder / coop =) Pic Heavy!!

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by foxyk91, May 21, 2011.

1. foxyk91

foxyk91 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 1, 2009
    Groton, NY
    OK so I'm new to owning chickens so bare with me. I first bought 6 golden comets chicks from Tractor supply. I brought them home knowing I had a few cages I could keep them in, but hubby said they could not be in the house. Well in April it is still cold here in NY so I was stumped on what I was going to do. I decided to keep them in the barn in one of the foaling stalls. I put there cages on a table with heat lamps. I didn't realize how fast these little buggers grew because withing 2 weeks they grew out of there cages. In a panic to figure out I was gonna come up with next..I got this bright idea...lol We had some old pallets laying around so I quickly started stacking them 6 on each side. I bought a 4 x 8 piece of OSB & put that on top of the pallets as a floor. I bought some cheap lenolium flooring & put that on the floor. We then put a sheet of OSB as the ceiling & used another sheet to make the front. Added some perches & we were back in buisness. Now I got this great brooder with plenty of room yet they quickly started to seem bored in there. So..I decided to just fence in the whole stall to where they could come out & walk around the rest of the stall. Might I add...this is all just temporary because I bought them a 14 x 18 Gambrel barn for there coop but it didn' t get shipped in time. I like my quick fix though & think I don't want to take it down...lol Hope you like it [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    Golden Comets..Lavender, Split & Mottled Orpingtons [​IMG]
    [​IMG]