My Opinions and Views on Different Breeds

Razz3

In the Brooder
Jul 6, 2016
I'm an amateur chicken breeder and owner, with a flock of maybe 15. I'm also closely involved with a second flock of five at another home that I'm at regularly. Because my chickens are just for eggs and pets, give or take, I'm not super attentive with their breeds and such, and as such I've got myself several mixed breed hens, that lay as well as their crossbreeds. I do have a few purebreed show chickens that I have more as pets and friends for the other chickens. This is just something that I wanted to post for reference for myself, and anyone else who wants to look at it. Breeds I have will be listed below, along with a short bit of description about each of the hens, and my overall impression of the breed.

Purebred Chickens

Barred Rock - 3 Hens
These hens, I've noticed, in addition to being the typical black and white barred chickens, have particularly large combs and waddles, particularly for hens. I mistook a few as roosters until making sure they didn't have their fantastic tail feathers.
I have three of these hens, one in my flock, and two in the flock I assist in. Tourmaline is the one in my flock, and the only one that has a name.
Tourmaline tended to be very loud, and much more of a leader than my other hens. They have free range capabilities at my home, so she wandered around a lot, along with the two Ameraucanas she was raised with. She was very social, given that I had hand raised her and her two buddies inside, but she didn't like to be held. She much preferred to walk behind you just a pace or two away and cluck for treats. Very talkative and happy, bright red comb and waddle.
The two Barreds at the other house are a bit more skittish, with a lack of socialization dampering their normally happy personalities. They are also very loud and excitable, some of the more energetic chickens that I know.