Mystery hole in egg... possible reasons?

omi4500

Songster
10 Years
Mar 3, 2014
Inland Empire
Okay, I've got one hen out of five (a barred rock) whose eggs usually end up with a hole or a crackled spot on the very tip of the pointy end. See here... it's pretty obvious that her egg is on the top right. She started laying a month ago.

Thankfully, the membrane is never broken - and she doesn't appear to be eating these eggs.. Ironically, this particular hen is my only one who likes to sit on everyone's eggs - not quite broody...but she'll tuck everyone's eggs (& sometimes the golf ball) under herself and give them TLC for a few minutes while she throws feathers and hay on her back.
love.gif
It's only ever her eggs with the hole/crack, tho. I'm new to this & I've never caught her in the act so I can only make guesses - does the hole look like it was made by a beak? If so, do you think she's doing this on purpose... or possibly on accident while she tucks the eggs under herself? OR... The hens all like to push the hay in their box out to the sides to form a bowl around them - but that means they lay their eggs directly onto the wooden box floor - could she be cracking her egg accidentally as it gets laid? Just don't know if I need to be doing anything differently.

Thanks, chicken mentors!
~Liz

It could be made by a toenail when they step on the egg, happens more often if the egg is on a hard surface. Making sure there is plenty of nesting material in the bottom of the boxes... you can make the boxes deeper so they don't hit bottom when they dig, put some shavings under the hay, or cardboard, carpet, etc
Are they on a commercial Layer feed and are you giving them oyster shell on the side? Do her egg shells seem thinner than the other ones?