Mystery Polish

am040608

Songster
5 Years
May 31, 2015
FINLEY WA
Okay I have been keeping polish for many years. I have been working on a splash project just for fun. I have 4 white crested White hens, 4 white crested black hens, 2 white crested blue hens, 3 splash hens, and one silver laced hen, covered by one white crested white rooster and one splash.
Obviously I hatch some white crested white, but mostly blues or splashes. ***Please understand this is just a fun project for me I am not at all trying to breed something for showing. They just always come out so fun looking and I love it.
Anyway I've had this pen for three years now. Today this chick hatched. During primary breeding months of the year my birds do not free range. I have 10 separate coops with 10 separate runs, built in a "barn stall" setup with five coops running down either side and a walkway and doors down the middle. I have no idea how a chicken could possibly have escaped and gotten back in or a rouge chicken could have possibly entered. I suppose in any world there is a possibility that could have happened, I just can't see how it would be possible, though I accept that could be the case here regardless.
Anyway this chick hatch today and I am absolutely baffled. The leg color is strange, it's colored pattern is bizarre but it looks like a Polish chick should otherwise?!
Has anyone ever seen a (assumed purebred) polish chick with colors like this?

Attachments

• 20200607_192637.jpg
    20200607_192637.jpg
    355.7 KB · Views: 16
  • 20200607_192633.jpg
    20200607_192633.jpg
    412.7 KB · Views: 14
  • 20200607_192630.jpg
    20200607_192630.jpg
    513.6 KB · Views: 13
Last edited:
You know, it could be a sport. I have Crevecoeurs, which are all black, but Jeannette Beranger from the Livestock Conservancy gave me an all-white sport. She has had several in her flock. My white sport won best of variety at the Ohio National last year.