Nail trimming

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Country4ever, Jan 21, 2014.

1. Country4ever

Country4ever Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 26, 2007
    My hens are 10 and 1/2 years old. One has nails that are very long and twisted. Is there a problem with leaving them that way? I've never clipped a chicken's nails before.........I probably could cut back to where it starts to twist? I don't think you can see the quick very easily. They are probably a little over 1" long. Any suggestions?

2. Tmatthews

Tmatthews Out Of The Brooder

Jul 17, 2009
    Cadiz
    I am far from a professional, but I had a hen who tended to grow long nails and they started to twist. I didn't notice it affecting her ability to walk normal, but at night when she was sleeping I did clip them back a little. I didn't do too much because like you said, it's hard to see the quick. The only think I had to use that was sharp and strong enough was trimmers I have for goat's hooves. That worked fine, but I'm sure not everyone has those in their inventory! haha Maybe someone on here with more know-how could offer you better advice.

3. Country4ever

Country4ever Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 26, 2007
    Thanks Tmathews.
    Actually, I was looking more closely at a couple of my other old hens and their nails are really long too! Maybe I should make an appointment for them at the spa? :)
    Maybe as they get older, they don't scratch on the ground as much and their nails just grow and grow? I don't like to put them through too much anymore, since they're so old.....but I might be able to clip a little without too much disruption.
    Thanks for your input!

4. memphis

memphis Overrun With Chickens

Aug 6, 2012