1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Nasty pecking chooks. Does anyone know what to do?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by mandycooney, Feb 10, 2009.

1. mandycooney

mandycooney New Egg

Feb 10, 2009
    Hi there,
    This is my first time on this website. We are chook novices who have five chooks, who free-range around the garden all day, and are locked up in their coop of an evening. The two "boss ladies" are really seriously pecking at the others, in various degrees, pulling their feathers out, and it looks really sore. We have treated them for mites, just in case it had something to do with the behaviour, but there has been no change. When I'm out in the garden with them, I see it happening but don't know what to do about it - chasing the bossy chook only works when I'm actually there.
    Any advice would be helpful.

2. 2manyhats

2manyhats Chillin' With My Peeps

May 18, 2008
    Central NY
    Are the chickens new to each other or long standing coop mates? If they are new, they need to establish the pecking order and the lower ones will learn to get away. It sounds like you are in a warm climate where you can get outside. Mine are pecking because it has been sub zero here for quite a while and they are bored without the ground to play with.

I heard others suggest scratch grains and I use whole vegies like halved squash to keep them occupied (last years garden remnants).

3. Chiiiiiiiiiickens!

Chiiiiiiiiiickens! Out Of The Brooder

Dec 26, 2008
    Southern New York