Neck Brace for a Hen?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Tigen14, Mar 19, 2017.

1. Tigen14

Tigen14 New Egg

Feb 8, 2017
    Hi All,

I am new to BYC but have had my ladies for a year now (started as chicks). In late October one of my EE bantams, Ariel, was missing at bedtime, all that could be found was a large pile of feathers and we thought she had been taken by the hawk that had been casing the place. The next day we found her, barely alive, with enormous tears in her neck and back. We made her as comfortable as we could in a lined shoebox in one of our warmer bathrooms, and I read all of the posts here on BYC regarding helping them after a predator attack.

I used a tiny portions of baby aspirin, partial portions of a general antibiotic we had been prescribed for a dog's kennel cough and crushed them up with some water and soluble feed. I flushed the wounds with Hydrogen Peroxide and filled them with anitbiotic gel and just tried to make her last hours comfortable.
    Well, she just kept trucking on, and each day I would feed her by syringe a few times a day and then she began to eat and drink on her own. Remarkably, her wounds healed very quickly but she had serious damage to the right side of her neck and so she struggled to stand and eat, eventually she would just sort of sit/stand and eat. She was rail thin but she lived and eventually began to gain weight.

It is now mid-March and she has not only recovered most of her weight but she began to lay eggs again in February! She only lays an egg about every 5 days or so but lay she does! She lives at night in a large bird cage I bought off Craig's list and during the day she sits by a large mirror or stumbles over to sit near my feet as I work (I'm a home based employee).