NEED 2 more adult guinea hens!

AlienChick

Crowing
Apr 9, 2010
Glasgow, KY
So my four (4) guineas are about 15 weeks old now. I got them when they were about 5 weeks old.
They live in the coop and free range with my chickens.

NOW, all of a sudden, they have decided to be abusive to my Polish hen (not the rooster).
I don't know why they don't like her, but I'm tired of seeing clumps of her feathers all over the yard!
somad.gif

They also do not like my itty bitty d'Uccle rooster, but he can see them coming and RUN real fast!

I read where the guineas need to pair off or they'll get aggressive. Is this what's happening?

And if so, should I just buy two more guinea hens (or sell two of my males)?
And is there anyone out there who is willing to part with two hens or take my two males??

This is my first year with guineas, so I'm new to this.

Help!

RIR011-1.jpg

It's very common for Guineas to get aggressive during breeding season, hormones are flaring and the males constantly show off for the attention of the Hens, plus they can be (overly) protective of the Hens they have already paired with. Some chicken breeds can deal with it, some can't.

It's hard to say if getting rid of the males will fix the problem or not because sometimes the Hens can be bullies as well, (it's usually the males that are the problem tho). But IMO adding just a couple more Hens probably won't help your situation any and the males will still be aggressive. Guineas do better in larger flocks in general so the males can focus more on each other and not target their aggressions at the chickens.

Is it possible to separate the Guineas from the chickens and free range them at different times maybe?

And I agree with SassyKat, your Guineas are beautiful, all sparkling clean! Pure Whites are one of my favs
smile.png

Firstly, welcome to the world of guineas
smile.png
. They can be a pain but mostly they're funny and the babies are so cute!