Need help with abandoned lamb

Songster
6 Years
Jan 5, 2015
Hello!
My neighbors asked me if I wanted to take this lamb that they've had for a few days... They said that they got it from someone else, who a farmer gave it to because the mom rejected it and he doesn't have time to bottle raise it. Anyways I pretty much can't turn it down. I breed and raise goats and pigs already, so I have a lot of experience bottle raising, but I want to know more about sheep in particular.
First of all, we're guessing that he's about a week old and someone suggested that it's probably a Suffolk cross. Can anyone confirm this? Also, I was wondering if he would be happy with my goats and mini horse (who is 21 years old and very friendly with the goats and goat kids) or if I will have to get another lamb at some point? I am going to castrate him today and I was wondering if anyone knows if wool from a castrated lamb is usable (I've read that people only use ewe wool)? I can't feel any horn buds right now (I don't think I can anyways...) so does that mean it's polled? I always dehorn my goats at a week old but they are much smaller than him (I raise Nigerian dwarfs). Do I have to dock his tail or is it unnecessary? Any other advice would be appreciated too!

(*It cut it's ear on a fence, so that's why it's bandaged)

Thanks!

IMG_20200301_165005.jpg

Hi, good on you for taking the little guy in.
If you are not concerned with parasite spread or disease, as lambs/sheep can be even heavier carriers that goats, then treat him just like you would bottle baby kids. The same formula will work and some of the same considerations go into choosing the formula.

The ONE big thing with sheep vs goats, is you have to watch copper. Many sheep only items will be labeled copper free, but with mild products, if it's labeled ok for lambs, like a uni-milk type of product, then it's probably fine.
Research copper in sheep.