Need some expert advice for my chicken moat

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by harriedhomemaker, Oct 16, 2011.

1. harriedhomemaker

harriedhomemaker Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2011
    The Hubster and I are in the process of building a chicken moat around our garden. We're getting the chickens in the spring and we're trying to get everything set up in advance.

Here's a link to my blog that shows the plan:

Chicken Moat Plan

You can see that the chickens can't make a complete circuit around the garden - the gate from the outside into the garden cuts it off. Do you think that our hypothetical chickens will get confused and be unable to find their way back to the coop? Being a complete novice to chickens, I have no clue!

Thanks!

2. mestaske

mestaske Out Of The Brooder

Feb 14, 2011
    Southern Colorado
    Looks cool. I do not think that they will get confused. As long as they know when are where they are fed they will be there. Plus they tend to venture out slowly, at least in my case. Mine at first only went a few feet from the coop and now they come to my garden and in my nice lawn and over to the apple trees... But they are always back inside by the time that the sun goes down.

3. Pharm Girl

Pharm Girl Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 6, 2011
    My sister has a similar set up in her yard. Once they know where the coop is, they all make it back just fine.

4. AZWhiteKnight

AZWhiteKnight Out Of The Brooder

Apr 24, 2011