1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

need some fencing help

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by GwenReaper, Sep 8, 2009.

1. GwenReaper

GwenReaper Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 7, 2009
    Memphis, TN
    I am new to chickens. I had 5 hens and only have 3 now. Last night a dog got into my coop. I thought the fence around it was secure, but I guess it wanted in. This was about 3am and by the time I got out there the dog already killed 2. A few others were nipped, but are okay. I cleaned there wounds and I know they are still in shock.

Soooo....

I have a fence around my chicken coop. Its just chicken wire I got from the hardware store and stakes to hold it secure. I turned in the bottom and anchored them with small metal rods that would hold the fence down from the inside. I thought it was secure, but obviously not. So I need to replace it as soon a possible. What is the best kind of fence to put up. It was about a 5ft fence.

Any advice would help. I just want to make sure they are safe.

2. nivtup

nivtup Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 24, 2008
    Shelton Washington
    We use 2 X 4 welded wire.

The absolute safest is hardware cloth.

We run a board along the bottom, and bury abut 1 ft of wire.

Good luck

3. Chickenfortress

Chickenfortress Chillin' With My Peeps

May 8, 2008
    I use a double layer system. 1/2 inch hwc for the inside and field fencing for the outside. Nothing big can get through the field fence, and not much can reach through the 1/2" squares. Field fence is about $60 for 330' here. To save money we put chicken wire on the inside of the upper areas, so 3' of 1/2 square and 5' of chicken wire above that.

4. trinityfly

trinityfly Out Of The Brooder