New and Rarin' to Go!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Shreenith, Jan 30, 2012.

1. Shreenith

Shreenith Out Of The Brooder

Jan 29, 2012
    Southern California
    Hello my soon-to-be chicken friends! I am Shreenith and I am determined to raise chickens in my backyard. I live with two other girls and I'm in a six-year doctoral program, so I'll be here for a while.

I am requesting all your best tips, tricks, and help. I know virtually nothing about chickens (sad face) but I am learning quickly. Any resources you have would be appreciated, as well. I would like to build my own coop, but I have very little experience with carpentry. So please give me any help your sweet chicken-loving hearts can spare!

Looking forward to hearing from you, my new precious friends,

Shreenith

2. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    Hello Shreenith and welcome to BYC from Ohio!

Glad you've joined, and I would suggest that, with your busy schedule, maybe try a small coop with 3 to 5 hens. So many things to consider.....

Do you want to raise some hens for the fresh eggs? Brown eggs? White eggs? GREEN eggs?!

The first thing I did when picking out my very first chicks was, I went online to some hatcheries, and I requested their catalog. That way, I could see pics of the different breeds, descriptions like cold/heat tolerance, size, egg laying frequency, and egg size, temperament......

The Meyer Hatchery at meyerhatchery.com has a great catalog for that, which also has great pics of the different breeds too. (No, I don't work there, it's just an hour away from my house, so that's where I buy my chicks.) Their catalog is just so informative. And it's free.

I can't advise you on the coop building. I got mine from Craigslist, already built.

Take care,
    Sharon

3. Shreenith

Jan 29, 2012
    Southern California
    Awesome, thank you! I used to live in Ohio, but now I'm in California. :)