new "Blue Chicken" mama

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by nc_notary, May 31, 2011.

1. nc_notary

nc_notary New Egg

May 25, 2011
    Hey y'all. I'm new to this chicken thing. My daughter had an experiment in her "Agri_Science" class this year. All the students learned how to candle (donated from a farm) eggs and then carefully using a needle and syringe, they inject the embryos with dye. Then they put the eggs in an incubator and waited to see what happened. Needless to say, we ended up with a Blue Chicken. She is the most beautiful chicken I have ever seen, of course I am very partial to her even in her 8 short days here with us. She's only 11 days old as it is. The teacher sent home some starter feed and that's it. No instructions on how to be a chicken mama or anything. I've come to realize that chickens are born knowing how to be chickens. Blue chicken shows me what she wants, it's getting easier to understand now. She nuzzles under my hand or snuggles next to me when she wants to sleep, (screams/cries) cheeps if she starts missing us, or just wants to be held. It almost sounds like she's laughing if we go to her box and check on her, she notices everything and won't let you leave without hold her or touching her!!! I love that little baby, OMG! And this site helped us get her to 11 days old so far. Reading all the forums have really helped us tremendously. BTW, my daughter is in her freshman year of High School, and she won the Award Of Excellence in Agri-Science class this year! Now to figure out what kind of chicken Blue Chicken is!!! Well that's about it, I just wanted to kind of open up the lines of communication and say hey! Thanks for reading! Have a clucky day![​IMG]

2. AlienChick

AlienChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2010
    Glasgow, KY
    Welcome to the forum and congratulations to your daughter for her Award Of Excellence.

I'm glad you're reading all the forums; you'll find a wealth of info here.