New BYC mumma of 5

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by jennloveshens, Jul 4, 2016.

1. jennloveshens

jennloveshens New Egg

Jun 21, 2016
    NH
    Hello, :) :cd

I've been raising 5 hens for a few months now. We got them when they were only a few days old - little, fluff ball cuties - who stayed in a cage, on a perch I made for them, all nice and cozy under a heat lamp.

To be honest, I had no idea what I was doing, but was directed here, to BYC, after googling some questions I had. I'm learning new things every day, such as what breeds my girls are. I think I figured them all out. I believe my "black" girl is a Plymouth (rock) Barred, my 2 (look identical) whites look like: light/white brahma's(?), 1 orange-brown is a Rhode island Red(?), and my 1 brown w/ blackish tail is a Welsummer(?) if I'm wrong, feel free to correct me, like I said, I'm still new to all this. Here's a visual:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

:yiipchick So anyway, the girls are pretty spoiled. Out of our 3 acres of property, they explore at least a good, solid acre of land between the surrounding woods and the front / back yards. My girls are completely free range now, everyday until bedtime, which is around 7:30pm nightly, so far. On hot and humid days, they like to lay down and relax in the shaded woods under shrubs and small trees, in a pile of old leaves. Or in their dirt bathing area, where I dug A little for them, so they can feel the nice cool ground.

They enjoy hanging out together, eating bugs, snacking and trimming long grass, being naughty and eating seeds they aren't suppose to, and coming up to mom (me) if they ever get hungry. Their fave treats include a little Kefir and plain yogurt(very spairingly), frozen Corn (frozen, fresh, ect) and Peanut butter on various breads.