New from Florida! Could use some breed advice.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by HennaRose, Oct 22, 2014.

1. HennaRose

HennaRose Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 22, 2014
    Florida
    Hi! I'm new to this stie and to chicken-keeping. i've done a little research, but I'm planning to learn a lot more in the coming couple months. I've recently begun planning my garden for next year and I want to include chickens in my plans this year. In addition to fresh, good-quality eggs, I think helping raise chickens will be good for my children. Teach them about raising some of their own food and all that.

My goal is to keep three to four birds, no more. I've got the perfect place for their coop and I had planned on letting them be as free range as possible within the laws governing poultry-keeping in my city, since I live in town. I was already going to fence off and screen in my garden in an effort to keep rabbits and wild birds out, so I've designated a spot for the coop inside that fence. Built in protection from predators that way, and they'll still have access to bugs and plant stuff in the garden from dawn to dusk.