New from Nebraska

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Kennicuttfarms, Apr 29, 2009.

1. Kennicuttfarms

Kennicuttfarms Out Of The Brooder

Apr 29, 2009
    Overton
    Hi all,

I am new to BYC and chicken parenting. My family and I jumped head first into chickens this spring. We started with 13 pullets we picked up from Orschlen's, 5 buff orpingtons, 5 rhode island reds, 3 salmon faverolles. Then I bought a buff orpington rooster (Daddy) at an auction. Then I ordered 50 chicks from McMurray's Hatchery. I am feeling a little over whelmed as I also have three boys, a husband, a dog, a cat, a chinchilla, a horse, pheasants, ducks, and quail. BUT I just LOVE to watch the chicks. I like to think of them as my (zoloft or prozac) [​IMG] I am a licensed vet tech in Nebraska and live in a small town where I have been a stay at home mom for the last four years.

We also bought an incubator with which we have already hatched some eggs. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I have enjoyed everthing. But I was wondering, if maybe I am just a little crazy? [​IMG] What do you all think?

I am sure I will have lots of questions about chickens. There just isn't an abundance of info in the veterinary medicine world for poultry or fowl, like there is for other animals.

So I just thought I would stop in and say "Hi" and "Thanks" for a wonderful site.

Lisa

2. toletiquesbysam

toletiquesbysam Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 19, 2008
    Nebraska
    [​IMG] Fellow Nebraskan!! You will be a great addition to the BYC with your background! Great to have you and your chicks! [​IMG]

3. B. Saffles Farms

B. Saffles Farms Mr. Yappy Chickenizer

Nov 23, 2008
    Madisonville, TN
    [​IMG] from TN

4. Eggzactly

Eggzactly Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 8, 2008
    marietta
    welcome to the site

5. cherig22

cherig22 Green Fields Farm

Sep 2, 2008
    SW Missouri
    [​IMG]

Cheri

6. EweSheep

EweSheep Flock Mistress

Jan 12, 2007
    Land of Lincoln
    [​IMG]