New from Utah!

LittleRedJen

In the Brooder
6 Years
Sep 11, 2013
Kooskia, Idaho
Hey BYCers! I have been using this site for a few months now and finally decided to just jump in and get an account. My decision to get involved with chickens was rather sudden. We never had chickens when I was a child, but a lot of my extended family has chickens. We're sort of a back-to-earth, all-natural, self-sufficient (or trying to be) kind of group. So naturally the idea of chickens appealed to me right away. But our getting chickens actually started with goats. Well, before that even, it started with a puppy. When our cat died, we thought we were doing the right thing by getting a puppy for our three children (now ages 1, 3, and almost 5), but quickly discovered that puppies are a lot more work than I was willing to put in. Within a couple of months, we sold him to a family who knew what they were doing and would give him an awesome life with their three older boys. Of course at that point we couldn't just come out pet-less. Our daughters were heart-broken and I knew they and our baby boy would benefit in so many way from growing up with animals. Plus, we thought it would be such a waste not to take advantage of our nearly 1/2-acre backyard. It was around that time that we discovered one of our neighbors down the street had goats: 4 mama goats, 2 kids, and 2 on the way. Talking to her a little more, we became convinced that goats were the animal for us. They are sweet and loving for the most part, will eat kitchen scraps, give milk, and act as natural lawn-mowers. What more could we want? One of the kids she had was white and one was black, and we thought it would be great to name them Yin and Yang. They would be ready to leave their mothers in a month. I even had experience milking goats (well, once, when I was a teenager). Unfortunately, she decided to sell them to a long-time friend at the last minute instead. Apparently we need better connections. So there we were yet again,