New in Utah

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by JMilner, Mar 8, 2015.

1. JMilner

JMilner New Egg

Mar 8, 2015
    Hello everyone!

My family is starting our journey with backyard chickens and we are very excited. We will be buying our chicks in the next few week and plan on getting three, one for each of our kids. We haven't chosen breeds yet, I personally want a Wyandotte because they are so beautiful. We have never had chickens before and the kids are SO excited.

We plan on building our coop and run in the next few weeks and I've been looking at all the different options, trying to figure out what will work best for our family. My criteria are first and most important function and ease of cleaning and maintenence. After that I would love it if it were super cute as well.

As for me, I'm a stay-at-home mom and plan on doing all of the work, along with the kids. I am also a writer and have a novel in the works.

Jodi

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome Jodi

Glad you could join the flock! Congratulations on your impending chicks :celebrate
    Raising chicks is such a rewarding experience especially if you have children helping you. It's something I enjoy very much. The learning centre is a great place to start for lots of great information on getting your chicken adventure under way. https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center

Wishing you the very best of luck and be sure to ask any questions you may have, everyone here to help and very friendly. Enjoy BYC :frow

1 person likes this.
  3. Dcawdrey

Dcawdrey Out Of The Brooder

Nov 4, 2013
    Medina, TN
    [​IMG] Good luck in your new endeavor. Consider Silkies they are wonderful with children and love to be cuddled. If you have questions, some one will try and answer them for you.

Welcome again and keep us posted on your progress.

4. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member