1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New layer with soft eggs

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by ducksforme, Feb 22, 2017.

1. ducksforme

ducksforme Just Hatched

Feb 22, 2017
    Hi everyone! I'm new to BYC and have only been a ducky Mommy (Welsh Harlequin) for about 6 1/2 months.
    My sweet Sadie started laying about two and a half weeks ago. A beautiful egg a day since she started. Today she laid two eggs, both of which were soft and powdery like. My drake, Skipper, and her both eat a starter/grower (Purina Organic) and I mix in Manna Pro layer in hers. Have to mix it because otherwise she doesn't seem to like it. They eat together and switch bowls as they eat, so I switch them back and forth. Can't always be with them the entire time they eat. They have oyster shells and grit separate.
    Can he be on a layer safely? Seems to be mixed feelings on this.
    Any suggestions?
    Love these babies so much and want to make sure they are healthy!!
    Thanks so much!!:)

2. chickens really

chickens really Overrun With Chickens

I never provide layer feed to my Ducks.....not saying this is how you should feed....

I feed my flock like this...I have two Drakes and hatch eggs.....

Duck finisher, Oat and Barley crumble and old style scratch grains....it has less corn......I feed lots of veggies during the week....Romain lettuce, peas, cucumber, tomatoes and other things....I also feed some fish based dry cat food as a treat.....

I have a bowl out with oyster shell and one with grit........

Cheers!

3. CoopintheWoods

CoopintheWoods Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 27, 2016
    I don't know much about ducks, but I know that roosters can eat layer feed and be just fine. Also, welcome to BYC!

4. ducksforme

ducksforme Just Hatched

Feb 22, 2017