New Member and New Chicken Raiser with compost question

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by mfischer, Oct 13, 2011.

1. mfischer

mfischer New Egg

Aug 30, 2011
    :)Hi I am a real newbie. Hope to get some pictures up this week. My 6 week old hens (3) have been in their coop for about one week. I want an easy way of keeping the coop clean and getting all the benefits of the wastes saved for my vegetable garden. I know I have to compost it to prevent burning of plants.

Years ago I had a compost pile and I really don't want to go back to the turning and worrying about keeping it at the correct temperature. For the last few years I have been using a method my mother taught me - this is simple and direct. You just accumulate some kitchen waste and then bury it. Reading one of my chicken books I found that there is actually a name for this type of composting " trench composting ". For me it is simple and I don't have a lot of kitchen wastes -- so my question is: Should I just trow in the chicken poop when I bury my wastes for would it be better to compost it separately.

I have places in the veggie garden without plants that I could bury the waste where there are no plants. I want to keep the coop very clean removing the poop every day or two I want something that is very simple and easy.

I read about the deep litter method and thought it might work for me, but my concern is that I only have three hens and the litter might not have enough moisture in it to compost properly.

Any thought would be greatly appreciated.

2. GoldDogsMom

GoldDogsMom Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 10, 2011
    Indiana, PA
    Welcome to BYC mfischer!