New member from Indianapolis, IN!

benisjamino

Chirping
11 Years
Apr 18, 2013
Hi everybody! I've been interested in raising a few chicken for quite a while now. I have a bunch of questions and I'd love it if anyone could start pointing me in the right directions.

First off, I have a small to medium sized, privacy fenced backyard. I saw this 'Precision Pet Urban Modular Chicken Coop' (http://www.precisionpet.com/detail.aspx?ID=198) on sale on Groupon. Is this a reasonable size for two hens? The Groupon deal is $150 for the coop and $80 for the add-on. Are there better options?
As far as building something myself, I majored in Furniture Design, so that's not an issue. However, I am extremely limited on time and tools right now.

Secondly, I live in Indiana where we have fairly mild winters and hot, humid, awful summers. Any suggestions for breeds that thrive in that type of weather? I have a heated garage, so it is possible to move them inside as well.
There is a farm store down the street from my house that sells chicks. Is it safe to assume the birds they have there would be good? I live in a neighborhood, so I would prefer not to have a rooster. Is it easy to tell males and females apart as chicks?

Any other suggestions on where to start researching some more would be great! Also, if there is anything that a novice wouldn't think of looking into ahead of time would be fantastic!

Thanks everyone!

-Ben

Greetings from Kansas, Ben, and
welcome-byc.gif
! Pleased you joined our community! Those are really good questions you've asked. I'll take a crack at them.