New member saying hello!!!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Boxersandchicke, Aug 21, 2016.

1. Boxersandchicke

Boxersandchicke New Egg

Aug 21, 2016
    Middletown Ct. USA
    Hello all! Ryan D here I'm a chicken newbie. I'm a 47 y/o veteran of the Marines and Air Force reserves. Avid guitar player gardener and mtb biker. Also have a Boxer obsession. I have 4 dogs.
    I can be viewed on Instagram by searching marinetoflyboyboxers

I've been wanting backyard flock for a few years now. And I've used this site heavily in my preparations and research. I've picked up a wealth of knowledge and am very grateful for all who share experience with the masses. My coop search lead me down many bumpy roads. I was considering building my own but after a 2 year search I finally found one that fit ALL my requirements. Wanted it structurally sound secure and aesthetically pleasing. I don't live in the woods & I fact I'm on a corner lot in the suburbs. So it would get a lot of views from everyone.

I thought I couldn't afford the ones I wanted but came across a 1 year old Amish 6x10 Quaker combo with full secure attached run with all the bells & whistles & power on CL for $800. This thing cost the seller about $3500 with all the accessories and delivery. The woman said her husband had passed away and was the (flock caretaker) she gave away the birds she had and I got lucky. It matched my Klotter Farms shed perfectly. Even the keys to the coop lock my shed. It was destined to be.

So it was not easy to find help getting it from her yard to mine & companies that specialized it shed moving wanted a fortune to move it. Found a guy online who tows cars locally cheap and I figured with his flatbed and winch we could get it done. Success for $200

I prepped the site with patio blocks I got free and made sure it was nice and level
    As the last I got it from had it sitting in the dirt. I wasn't about to have the coop rot in a few years.