1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New member with questions

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by KLF-NH, Aug 14, 2013.

1. KLF-NH

KLF-NH Out Of The Brooder

Aug 14, 2013
    Hello everyone. I'm new to this chicken addiction, but I've been following and learning from this site for a few months now. What an amazing resource you all are. Thank you!

This has been quite the journey so far. I ordered 6 chicks online from mypetchicken, a plymouth barred rock "sassy", easter egger "Cleo", silver laced wyandotte "Lacey"' golden laced wyandotte "Lucy", black austrolorp "Gertty"' blue cochin "Socks". They arrived back on 4/8, which my wife was not too happy about. She agreed to let me keep them so long as the coop didn't cost a small fortune. I promised it wouldn't. The plan was to build it from reclaimed wood I had and pallets that I had to collect.

I was able to win her over by having her help design the coop and letting her name it. She came up with the "Laying Loft" and I kept the cost under $100.

Unfortunately, we lost "socks" the Cochin a few months back to a mother fox that had made a den under my neighbors shed approx 50yds from the coop. They were free ranging while I was working in the yard, but when I went in the house to get something, got side tracked for a little while and when I came out she was missing. I spoke with the neighbors kid to see if he had seen her and that's when I learned about the fox!!! So I crawled under the shed and found a few tell tale feathers. Made me feel terrible!!!!! Subsequently, I kept the rest of the flock cooped up until the fox and her little ones moved on. So far so good. I do let them back out now but they are watched very closely.