Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Frenchen1, Aug 20, 2016.

1. Frenchen1

Frenchen1 Just Hatched

Aug 19, 2016
    Thank you for making me a member of this group. Hi Everyone, I am a recently retired teacher, who lives on a small ranch in Southern California. Since my husband passed, I have been looking for something interesting to keep me busy.We had a few chickens before, but I was a bad chicken keeper.Now, thanks to my relatives and neighbors, I know a lot more. It has been fun getting set up,and making new friends. My favorites are the Marans and the Easter Eggers. A relative lives with me now, and she has a few other breeds. We are into Heritage Breeds. We have started off with good lines. Our goal is to feed ourselves, and sell eggs and a few chickens along the way. She has experience. A few weeks ago, I bought an incubator. Yesterday, we set 20 Easter Egger eggs from our flock. This is a new experience for us. One of our hens is showing early signs of being broody, but I couldn't wait. I am now a chicken addict, so please keep "egging"me on. Joanne

2. ChickenGrass

ChickenGrass Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 16, 2015
    Republic of Ireland
    :welcome Joanne
    I think you will settle down here very well.
    You have officially been bitten by the chicken bug! :jumpy :cd

Last edited: Aug 20, 2016
  3. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, Joanne, and :welcome. Pleased you joined our flock. Happy hatching with yours! :jumpy

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Nice to meet you Joanne, thank you for joining us at Backyard chickens.

5. Frenchen1

Frenchen1 Just Hatched

Aug 19, 2016