Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by babyfoot, Oct 3, 2013.

1. babyfoot

babyfoot Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi, I go by the name Babyfoot on social websites. I currently live in Western Australia and have 13 ladies and two gents. As they have a lot of space to roam- the two roosters at 1yr old and 2yrs old are so far managing to get along with few altercations. Seems they have their favoured hens and only get upset if one encroaches on the other's hen. Then again the 1yr old hasn't got his full spurs yet, wait and see as the 2 yr old managed to claim victory over the last rooster who was approx 5 and was past his prime. Very sad but that's nature. I have perused this forum and many others but always come back to this one for information

. I am no expert and have only three years experience of my feathered family but have in those three years had a few sad losses and some huge vet bills before learning that by the time a vet is involved it is usually too late. My initial flock came along with the house I'd bought so had no idea of how old any of them were. Three were 'saved' from a caged farm facility as they were past their 18 month 'best'. The previous owner had them for two years after that and I have now had them for three so that makes them approx 6.5 yrs. sadly one has gone to chook heaven only two months ago. I have also lost a hen to internal laying, yes I did a wee looksee after she had died as I wanted to make sure, the vet said the xrays showed nothing abnormal. I HAD to know as I needed to know for the next time. Vet bills are huge and many don't do poultry anyway.