New Mommy here :)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Cajun-Chick, Nov 6, 2012.

1. Hello everyone! [​IMG]I just wanted to introduce myself to the BYC family and say thank you for all the great and helpful info that is on here.

(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?
    I am not really new to chickens in general, my dad raises chickens, but I am new to being a chicken mommy. I have to say, I didn't know that I could love a chicken(s) as much as I do. There is just something about them that completely melts my heart [​IMG]. I bought my first chick on mother's day(coincidence? I think not [​IMG]) He turned out to be a Bantam Barred Rock rooster named Oreo.
    [​IMG]
    He is my lil' man. I love this chicken so much. Although, he doesn't seem to like anyone else. I think he considers me his "hen", lol. He greets me on the front steps when I get home from work and announces my arrival by crowing. If I go in the house without petting him, he will stand at the door, look inside, and crow nonstop until I go out there and give him some lovin'. ROTTEN is what he is!!

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
    Right now I have 13 chickens total (I just bought 10 chicks last week).

(3) What breeds do you have?
    I have 3 Barred Rock, 6 silkies, and 4 sizzles.

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?
    I discovered you BYC when I noticed that my 10 new chicks(silkies and sizzles) started sneezing, with a clear discharge, on Sunday. I used Google to try to find some answers and BYC came up. After looking around the website, I knew that I needed to join because of all the information and help that is on here.

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?
    I love to be outdoors. Working in the yard, camping, hunting, fishing, siting by a fire, reading.

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.