New to BYC...intro!

kmwright

Songster
9 Years
Jun 24, 2010
Winters, CA
Hello!

My name is Kristen, I live in a rural town in Northern California. I got my 3 chicks on Friday and I'm picking one more up today. They are 5 weeks old, a Plymouth Rock, Gold laced Wynadotte, and Ameraucana. I made a brooder out of a kiddie pool and chicken wire. They have pine shavings, water, chick starter, and a couple of perches that they love! I can't believe I've never done this before, I am absolutely in love with my chicks! They have such personality and they follow my 3 year old daughter everywhere. She says that they love her.
big_smile.png

Here they are before I had their brooder set up. Lucy the Wynadotte is on the left, Sneaky the Plymouth Rock is up front, and Teddy (Bear) the Ameraucana is in the back.

35688_1413619712125_1581527388_9639.jpg

Rolling in the pine shavings

34302_1413876078534_1581527388_9644.jpg

Outdoor time with my daughter. They were chasing bugs, it was so fun to watch them!

35688_1413619792127_1581527388_9639.jpg

Thanks for letting me share! I am looking forward to being here more often!!

welcome-byc.gif
from a fellow Northern Californian! Aren't chicks just great?? I think it is wonderful to have chicks with kids too, my nephew is 5 years old and lives with us pretty often, and he is so proud that he can put my chickens into their coop for the night! Plus, just wait until your little girl gets to collect eggs! I will keep my fingers crossed for a green or blue egg from your ameraucana/easter egger chick
big_smile.png
big_smile.png
I have 1 Barred Rock, 1 Easter Egger (They are mistaken as ameraucana's but they are actually Easter Eggers
big_smile.png
) and 4 Wyandottes of various colors. They are addictive so don't be surprised if your chicken math multiplies quickly!!