1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New To BYC + Questions

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by CuteAsAButton, Feb 25, 2017.

1. CuteAsAButton

CuteAsAButton Just Hatched

Feb 25, 2017
    Winston Salem, NC
    Howdy! I'm a new member to BYC and I have a few questions. I'm new to the whole poultry thing and I was wondering if I could get some tips? I'm interested in raising quail (button quail, to be exact!) and I need a few pointers in the right direction.

I'm getting some button quail eggs on Friday, and I'm wondering if I should get a different incubator? My current one is a Hovabator but I don't know if it's my best option. Any suggestions?

Also, any recommendations for food brands?

Thank you! ^^

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome to BYC - great that you have joined us. I'd suggest asking your questions on the Quail forum - https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/48/quail as members there will be best placed to advise you.

Best wishes
    CT

3. CuteAsAButton

Feb 25, 2017
    Winston Salem, NC
    Oh thanks! I'll be sure to ask there, then. :p

4. N F C

N F C Home in WY Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    [​IMG]

Quail look like fun, interesting little birds to raise but I've only had chickens. CTKen gave you the best link to find an answer to your question. Best wishes for a great hatch!

5. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member

G’Day from down under CuteAsAButton [​IMG] Welcome!

Great username! Good luck with the hatch.