New to Chickens and loving BYC!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Wildroses986, May 18, 2009.

1. Wildroses986

Wildroses986 New Egg

May 14, 2009
    Tucson
    Hello all! I've been lurking and reading as much as I can get away with for the past few days and thought I'd post and introduce myself.

I am brand new to chickens, I've never had any before. I've been wanting to get a backyard flock for about a year now and we're finally buying our own home and are excited to get a flock started once we've settled in.

I am interested in layers, not meat chickens. I've been researching different breeds and trying to figure out the best match for me. So far I'm the most interested in Easter Eggers (although my local feed store is calling them Ameraucanas and I'm pretty sure they don't buy their chicks from a breeder, not sure what they're actually selling?)

Found BYC.com on an internet search and I'm so thrilled that I did!

I live with my partner and 2 dogs, 1 cat and 2 horses in Tucson, Arizona. Other than researching chickens, I play rugby and roller derby and enjoy training my Thoroughbred mare for barrel racing. I work in a skin diagnostic laboratory as a histotech.

Looking forward to everyone's input and advice on starting this new endeavor!

Thanks!

2. Imp

Imp All things share the same breath- Chief Seattle

[​IMG] from Washington

It's beautiful around Tucson. Good luck getting chickens.

Imp

3. muell112

muell112 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 4, 2009
    Bangor, ME