New to chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by LearningInPayson, May 23, 2019.

1. LearningInPayson

LearningInPayson In the Brooder

May 23, 2019
    Hello everybody,

I am happy to be on here. I just found this site and am hoping to be able to learn from each of you and from your experience. I am brand new, not only to this site, but also to the idea of having chickens and am hoping to start at the very beginning and get some help that maybe I can repay at some point in the future. Let me answer the questions requested from this site. Then I will probably make a few posts and hopefully figure things out from there. Thank you all in advance for any help you are willing to give to me.

(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?

I am brand new to chickens. I do not have any chickens yet but hope to get some very soon, maybe even this weekend. I am hoping to gain some help in deciding what to do before I go out and buy any. I would like to be successful and make as few mistakes as I can the first time around. I have always lived in a city and never thought I would enjoy animals other than the typical dogs and fish. I moved my family out to a smaller city a couple years ago, and since then have become more and more interested in different things like this. While I am still in a city, it is more rural and we are very happy for it to be so.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
    None. I am hoping to change that very soon.

(3) What breeds do you have?
    None yet. Still in the research phase.

(4) What are your favorite aspects of raising backyard chickens?
    New to this. Excited to find this answer out.

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?