New to chickens??

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by cg21, Aug 31, 2014.

1. cg21

cg21 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 31, 2014
    Well I just wrote a really long post and then it said I wasn't logged in so it deleted it. But long story short here !! I am moving to a new home in Northern Indiana... with 10 acres. I am new to birds in general... but been reading on here for quite some time. And I think I have a solid game plan.. Just looking for tips or advice that I am over looking. My goal is to have brown eggs daily.... and have help with insect control on my property. I am thinking 5 rhode island reds and 5-10 guinea fowl. Will the guinea be enough for protection if I free range the birds? Or should I get a rooster also??

My plan is to get pullets have a chicken coop with a run & nesting boxes house them in there for 2-4wks so they establish a home. And then free range them from then on. Locking them up at night I will be near lots of night time predators.

Just wondering if you guys think this is a good plan? To ambitious for a beginner?? Should I diversify my flock??? Should l get a rooster??? a peacock? goose??? Don't want my birds to be dinner for any critters.

Thanks for any tips!!!
    Looking forward to reading and learning more.

2. iwiw60

iwiw60 Overrun With Chickens

Jan 27, 2014
    Central Oregon
    Hi and welcome from Oregon! [​IMG] I'm no an expert, but it's my understanding that guinea fowl and chickens "don't mix" well. With that said, as you live in an area with lots of predators neither guinea fowl or roosters are a 100% guarantee against them....at all.

I personally do not favor free-ranging, so on that part of your question(s) I can't help you.