1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New to quail

Discussion in 'Quail' started by lilredCC, Sep 23, 2016.

1. lilredCC

lilredCC Out Of The Brooder

Mar 17, 2011
    Hello,
    I am a chicken lover/owner with who just acquired 3 Bob white Quail. I am a vet tech but have no experience with these little birds, any advice would be welcomed!
    I am taking 2 females and 1 male (under a year old) from a woman who's husband just died and raised and really enjoyed them in his final months.I am keeping them in a smaller coop that we used to put our pullets in before transitioning them to our larger coop/enclosed run.I am picking them up later this week.
    We eventually would like to build a separate run/coop off the back of our current chicken coop, but have them separated by fence and get more.
    My questions are as followed:
    1: Should I be feeding medicated game bird food ,as I don't know their history?
    2: Will it be dangerous to my chickens to have them in a separate coop/run attached to the back side of my current chicken run? *After quarantining them for a while to make sure they are healthy
    Thanks in advance for any advice!!

2. purslanegarden

purslanegarden Out Of The Brooder

Aug 10, 2016
    You can feed them regular food. I get crumbles version of the chick feed. They also can eat scratch grains.