New to raising chickens

Greg M

In the Brooder
5 Years
Feb 20, 2014

Hi, I am just getting into raising some backyard chickens and received the above fabricated coop from my wife for Christmas. I have already made contact with someone to get some Iowa Blue pullets that will be between 2-4 months old in the next month.

I have looked at a lot of the coop examples on this site and have some curiosities about the coop I have. I thought I'd reach out for some advice and feedback, since there are obviously a lot of folks on BYC that have a wealth of knowledge and experience that could help a newbie like me hopefully. So here's my inquiries:

1) this coop does not come with a cover to the door. Do I need to make one to place over it at night when the go in it to roost?
2) Do I need some type of protection from predators? I live on 3+ acres and know for sure there are coons, foxes, opossum, coyotes, hawks, and owls around.........to name a few. What would I need to do to protect my chickens? I have a dog kennel I thought I would start it off in that has a fenced run. And I have a solar electric fence I could utilize. Any suggestions and/or thoughts would be appreciated.
3) As the house is somewhat limited, can I put the feeder and water outside the house on the ground? I guess if having no door is ok, then it would allow them access to both 24 hrs. But if I need to add a door, where do they need the food and water?
4) Should I add some roosts to the cage? Will they roost outside the house, or do they mainly roost at night........which would be inside the house?
5) Thoughts or ideas for making this coop into a tractor, where I could move it around the yard? I've thought about a couple of wheels on the house end. Also the possibility of just adding a treated 4x4 all around the bottom, with the ends curved on one end to be able to move it around with my 4 wheel drive Deer tractor.