PouleNoire

Crowing
7 Years
Sep 13, 2015
Pennsylvania
Hey Rabbit people!:bun So I've had rabbits for quite some years like more than 5 years but they were pretty much just pets I have had my Opal Mini Rex buck; Comet for oh around 4 years if I can remember right? So I'm not a complete newbie. He was bred to show but I got him when I was a little younger and never got around to showing him but I did do quite some research when I was expecting to show him, especially about the rex breed.

But, just very recently I purchased my new 3 month old black/white broken pattern standard rex young doe; Astrid! She's going to be my first show rabbit and so, I want to raise her as so. I already am well aware that handling is extremly key as that is an issue with Comet. But; anything else I should make sure to know moving forward?:D Super excited and can't wait to grow my knowledge!

P.s I am hoping to breed the two in a few years time: 1) at what age would it be best to breed Astrid? Comet is a lower middle aged buck. 2) Will Comet being a mini rex and Astrid being a standard size rex bring any issues? 3) Any other things I should know/keep in mind. I'll get some pics soon:thumbsup

Didn’t know we peep rabbits here too, but what the heck.
If your buck is smaller then the doe, you shouldn’t have any issues.
Depending on the breed, they can get pregnant as early as about 3.5 month off age.
I wouldn’t recommend breeding any rabbit until they are at least 6-8 month old.
As general rule, the bigger the rabbit (breed), the longer they take to mature.
Most Rabbits are considered mature at 8 month.

But if you want to raise show babies, you might want to either buy a standard Rex buck, or, if you know other rabbit owners with standard Rex, see if they will let you bring your doe in for breeding.
Besides handling, I would make sure she gets used to her travel cage, traveling in a car, and unfamiliar places.
Mini Rex used to be one of my favorite.