new to the community

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Kdunn, Mar 16, 2018.

1. Kdunn

Kdunn In the Brooder

Mar 16, 2018
    Well we just jumped into the chicken community. have 6 rhode island reds about 3-4 weeks old. Putting up the coop this weekend. Love it so far. Any suggestions, tips, tricks appreciated.

I have heard pros and cons of having water in the coop and not out-but with being in northern IL, figured I will have to have on inside and running on a circulation pump to keep from freezing. any suggestions appreciated.

2. Phoenixheart14

Phoenixheart14 Chirping

Mar 15, 2018
    :welcome

I live in central Texas, so I can't help you on the heated water.

So happy you're diving into the world of chickens!

3. Farmer Connie

Farmer Connie All My Friends Have Hoofs

Feb 28, 2017
    Florida Peninsula
    My Coop
  4. Pork Pie

Pork Pie Flockwit

Jan 30, 2015
    Hello and welcome to BYC. Similarly, I have no experience with keeping chickens in cold temperatures. I'd suggest using the search function for suggestions. These links may be interesting

http://www.backyardchickens.com/a/winter-chicken-keeping
    http://www.backyardchickens.com/a/winter-chicken-keeping

Here’s a good link where you’ll find lots of information on almost every aspect of keeping chickens - from coop building ideas, to incubating eggs - https://www.backyardchickens.com/articles/

There’s a link on the page above to the Learning Centre - it’s a great resource. If you have a specific topic in mind, just type it in the search box - there's a wealth of information on past and present threads.

Each week, various topics are discussed, which can also be a great resource - https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/topic-of-the-week-thread-archive

You can use this link to contact members in your area - Find Your State Thread

Best wishes

Pork Pie

007Sean, Joeschooks, Kdunn and 3 others like this.
  5. ronott1

ronott1 A chicken will always remember the egg

Mar 31, 2011