newbie adopts 3 pullets- bad mix?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by zoeart, Aug 9, 2008.

1. zoeart

zoeart Out Of The Brooder

Jul 28, 2008
    Philadelphia
    So, I adopted three pullets as a total newbie...

Two are stuck together at the wing- same breed, probably sex-link ISA brown or something. They are supposedly 4 or 5 months old.
    The third is a Sicilian Buttercup, and may be much younger, as young as 2 or 3 months. They were all raised/living together somewhat free range with three other pullets in their previous home.

Now, the two older ones are frequently ganging up on the little buttercup- chasing and pecking. the buttercup is starting to sleep in the nest box to keep away from the others.

so- is this just a big no-no, having pullets of different ages together? I am thinking I might need to find a new home for the buttercup anyways- she is so flighty, and I have a small backyard coop set-up. She is not at all docile, and while the other two are getting more and more used to me and eating from my hand, etc, I haven't been able to get near her. It's a real feat getting her back in the coop, let me tell you.

If I gave her away, what would be the best way to replace her? With a pullet of the same age or older than the two I already have? Would having the same breed help?

Any insight into all of this would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

( see http://picasaweb.google.com/zoeart/Chickens for pics)

Last edited: Aug 9, 2008
  2. JennsPeeps

JennsPeeps Rhymes with 'henn'

Jun 14, 2008
    South Puget Sound
    Just sounds like the out-hen-out is the lowest in the pecking order. She'll probably be a tagalong chicken, which is OK. My neighbor have 6 chickens, one of whom is clearly the loner. She doesn't seem unhappy. Of my 4 girls, my banty cochin is the hanger-on. She seems content.

Keep an eye on her though, that the peckign doesn't result in injuries. If it does, you'll need to separate them immediately.

3. PotterWatch