Newbie coop question

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by mnjpando, May 16, 2010.

1. mnjpando

mnjpando Out Of The Brooder

May 16, 2010
    I am just starting and I no nothing.. So now with that being said.. I decided to try and build a coop. I would like to know how many hens (leghorns) or (RI Reds) I can hold in it and and 1 ROOSTER. I think the image post should be correct. Please look at my coop design and let me know. I would also like to know where I should put the roost rails? .Dimensions are 43" X 43" and on the high end of the coop its 48" high.. As I said I am a total newbie here to this site and to chicken raising. as suggestions will be appreciated....

[​IMG]

2. elmo

elmo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    One common rule of thumb used is 4 square feet per bird of coop floor space, plus 10 square feet of floor space per bird in an outdoor run.

The roost should be positioned so that drafts from the vents don't blow directly onto the birds. Ventilation is very important for chickens, as described in this excellent page on the subject:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/web/viewblog.php?id=1642-VENTILATION

In terms of the width of the roost, figure that your roost needs to be about 1 foot long for every chicken.

These are just guidelines, though. I don't think anyone is every sorry to exceed these minimums. The more space chickens have, the happier they are and the easier it will be for you to keep their living quarters clean and healthy for them.

3. adeechickluv

adeechickluv Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2010
    Portland, Oregon
    I agree with elmo, but I'm going to say 2-4 chickens will fit in there. Roosters need the same amount of space as hens, so one can be a rooster.

4. rebecky1305

rebecky1305 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 19, 2009
    Lansing, MI