Newbie from Indianapolis, IN!!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by cassada2604, May 27, 2011.

1. cassada2604

cassada2604 Out Of The Brooder

May 27, 2011
    Indianapolis
    I am a stay at home momma to a 3 year old son and 2 year old daughter. My husband and I have been married for 7 years. We have 2 dogs and 1 cat. We recently started a large garden and thought...why not have our own fresh eggs? Which brings me here. We purchased a used outdoor cedar dog house for a whopping $30.00 to transform into our chicken coop. We will raise it and build a run off of that. I am very interested in the Buff Orpingtons, Australorps, and Barred Plymouth Rocks. Since it is my first time owning chickens I thought I would start out with only 3. I have been told I need more. Can someone explain why and how many I should start out with? Does this combination of breeds work well together? Anywho, I am very excited to communicate with all you pros and go through the learning experience with the newbies!

Amanda

2. ChlorophyllChick

ChlorophyllChick Out Of The Brooder

May 27, 2011
    I don't know about the laws where you live, but here in New York you have to buy a minimum of 6 according to state law. I guess they want to make sure that people are serious about owning chickens and know what they are getting into. You could probably get fewer if you purchased them from an individual on Craigslist or something though. Good luck- we are new to chickens as well and loving it so far!

3. ghillie

ghillie Hen Pecked

Nov 13, 2008
    Colorado Springs, Co
    [​IMG]

4. crtrlovr

crtrlovr Still chillin' with my peeps