Newbie here. Broody hen and pooping in nesting box.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by 2muchfun, Nov 29, 2008.

1. 2muchfun

2muchfun New Egg

Nov 29, 2008
    Hi. We started on BYC looking at coop design last year. Now we have a great coop in the shed and 9 chickens. Getting about 5 eggs a day now-- lots of fun, especially watching our "special" Silkie, "Fluffy."

Question #1: Martha is broody and won't get off the nest. How long will this last and should I be doing anything for/to her? I do not want baby chicks this winter.

Question #2: Some yayhoo chicken is pooping in one of the nesting boxes. Any suggestions as to why this is happening and what I could do to stop it?

I look forward to hearing from and sharing with you. [​IMG]

2. silkiechicken

silkiechicken Staff PhD Premium Member

If you don't want her to brood, kick her off all day, lock her out, put her in a wire bottom cage and make her miserable. Seriously. Some broodies will sit and sit and sit till they lose all their weight if they don't get chicks, so the sooner you try to "break" her the better as it isn't really the best for their health. Some will get up on their own after a month, but with winter on the fringe, I'd break her and not risk her sitting for a few months in the worst of the year.

Check to see if you have a nest box sleeper. That's most likly the reason for the poo. If it's not a nest box sleeper, I'm not sure how you can stop it. Poopy eggs isn't very fun... reach in expecting a nice clean egg and get your index finger in a pile. Yuck!!

WELCOME!!!!

3. cmom

cmom Hilltop Farm

Nov 18, 2007
    Florida
    My Coop