Newbie here - Just got 24 chicks!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by PlymouthRocker, May 7, 2009.

1. PlymouthRocker

PlymouthRocker Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2009
    Plymouth County MA
    Hello! I'm excited to join this board and become part of the community. We talked about getting chicks this spring or next, but on Sunday an acquaintance gave us two antique nesting boxes, two antique feed bins and two antique feeding troughs so we decided to buy the chicks now. (Doesn't "antique" sound better than "old galvanized stuff"?) We cleaned out the lean-to behind our garage that is on a concrete slab and today I picked up the last 24 chicks at our local feed store: Plymouth Whiterocks and two breeds the feed store owner was unsure about; Black Sexlinx and Orpingtons, he thought. I did a Google search for the black chicks and couldn't find anything.

Today another acquaintance offered us her coop, fence, posts and nesting boxes, so this weekend we are going to put her coop on the concrete slab behind the lean-to and fence it in. The lean-to will go back to patio furniture storage.

The chicks are eating like pigs and enjoying the red light. I'm going to poke around and see if other people have asked the questions that I have.

Again, I'm so happy to be here!
    Stacey

2. sred98

sred98 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 18, 2008
    Oklahoma
    [​IMG] [​IMG] You'll fit right in! If you got Orpingtons, they are great chickens, super sweet and good layers. The black sex link are good layers, too. White rocks are also.

Congrats on scoring all the free stuff! We love freebies here! LOL!

You'll have to post a pic of your new babies!

Shelly

3. ArizonaNessa

ArizonaNessa Joyfully Addicted

Apr 7, 2009
    Texas
    [​IMG] from Arizona!!!!! Congrats on your little feathered friends!

4. cstacatto

cstacatto Out Of The Brooder

Apr 30, 2009
    Lakewood
    Quote:[​IMG]

Lol Good Luck I just got my 25....MORE BR chicks in the mail today hehehe.

5. SilkieBaby