1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Newbie here, no clue where to start... Mom wants to build a coop with water bottles???

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by laschai, Jan 28, 2015.

1. laschai

laschai New Egg

Jan 18, 2015
    So I've heard that you can actually make a house out of water bottles filled with sand stuck together by mud. My mom thinks I should make a chicken coop like that. Not sure if that's possible? We have a large yard so I can just have a large fenced area for them but we do need a coop. I have no clue what I'm even talking about here somebody help?
    Example of plastic bottle house: http://www.offgridworld.com/bulletproof-fireproof-house-made-from-used-plastic-bottles/

Last edited: Jan 28, 2015
  2. mossyroo

mossyroo Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 23, 2014
    Mossy Head, FL
    Depends on how many free bottles and sand you have access to. It's gonna take a bunch of both and a whole lot of tedious bottle filling. Articl also says he used cement and mud to hold it together but did not see a ratio.

3. TalkALittle

TalkALittle Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 15, 2014
    Massachusetts
    OMG, shoot me now! I would tire of that after about the 10th bottle. You do have to admire the ingenuity though.

I'll assume your mom is wanting an inexpensive coop or maybe she is looking for a way to incorporate materials that would otherwise go to a landfill. If that is the case, search these forums for "pallet coop". There are loads of people that have used old pallets to make some remarkably pretty and functional coops for very little money. Using salvaged wood and pallets is inexpensive and minimzes environmental impact.

4. BayBay Peepers

BayBay Peepers Overrun With Chickens

Apr 5, 2013
    Wisconsin