Newbie to Chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by BatesPiggery, Dec 21, 2014.

1. BatesPiggery

BatesPiggery Out Of The Brooder

Dec 21, 2014
    Hawthorne, FL
    (1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?

I had chickens when I was six or seven, but I wasn't the primary caregiver, so I suppose I am new to chickens, really.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?

Right now I have three, two hens and a rooster.

(3) What breeds do you have?

The rooster is a blue Maran, one hen is pure Silver Laced Wyandotte, the other is SLW crossed with an Americana.

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?

When I bought my chickens, the woman I purchased them from recomended I learn as much as I can on here.

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?

I am really into, though it may seem geeky, genetics. I want to one day create a new breed of pig and chicken.

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.

First off my name is Samantha, you should know that I am a senior in high school. I started a successful photography business, then I joined 4H and fell in love with my project pig, Rufus. Ever since I have been saving up money and drawing up blue prints to build my own farm. In a week I will be going to pick up my bred sows and it will all begin. Right now. The other pets I have are two dogs. A Border Collie mix rescue, Cooper, and a Shih Tzu, Pandora, (They have an instagram @thehipsterdogtwo). I know its weird but photography is one of my passions. An old rescued yard cat, Mason, and a white gold fish, Bruno. Then of course my flock. The roosters name is Henry, and I am still looking for names for the girls. Thats about all there is to tell, I think.

Last edited: Dec 21, 2014
    1 person likes this.
  2. matt44644

matt44644 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 14, 2014
    Sanilac County,Michigan
    [​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  3. dawg53

dawg53 Humble