No air cell???

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Sequin, May 24, 2010.

1. Sequin

Sequin Songster

May 20, 2008
    Just wondering what it might mean if the entire egg is dark. Is it rotten and ready to explode? Or is it getting ready to hatch??? Just wondering. I couldn't find an air cell anywhere and this is my first attempt at hatching... well, letting my broody hen hatch them. Any help would be great. THANKS!!! [​IMG]

ETA: I also have another question: I know that on day 18 eggs in an incubator go into lock down, but what about when they are under a broody hen? Am I doing harm by continuing to candle them? I am not exactly positive on what day they are on, but I am sure they ought to be hatching some time this week. Again, Many thanks!!

Last edited: May 24, 2010

2. SarahFair

SarahFair Songster

Sep 23, 2008
    Monroe, Ga
    If the eggs are brown it could just be the shell is thick. If they are under a hen I would leave them there. She knows what shes doing [​IMG]

3. henney penny

henney penny Songster

Nov 21, 2009
    Northern Maine
    I had the same question,when I candled it was completly black with no air cell,they had been under the broody and she left them after four hatched.So they have been in my incubator two hatched and now I have two left should I leave them for a few more days?

4. lauralou

lauralou Songster

Dec 10, 2007
    Central Virginia
    I'm not an expert on candling. At all. [​IMG] But I can tell you that rotten eggs smell bad. From outside the shell. If you sniff an egg and it smells funky, toss it. Quickly and carefully. If it doesn't smell bad, it probably isn't rotten. That's been my experience anyway. I can smell a rotten egg from outside the nest box. I have an excellent sniffer!

If your eggs are very close to hatching, you should probably leave them alone. I'm basing that assumption on the same thing you are, the fact that people put eggs in the bator on "lockdown".

5. henney penny