NO eggs

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by shesell, Dec 3, 2009.

1. shesell

shesell Out Of The Brooder

Mar 24, 2009
    Deland, FL
    I have NHR, BO's and welsummers. THey were born in May and started laying about mid September...a lot. Laying a lot of eggs. I went away for a week leaving them with a sitter. THey looked great when I got home...but were not laying. I have 16 hens and am now only getting about two to three eggs a day. What is the deal? They don't seem to be molting. I'm sure you guys can tell me what's going on. I am just new at it and a little confused.
    THanks for your help,
    Sheila

2. ThePamperedPullet

ThePamperedPullet Chillin' With My Peeps

A lot of it has to do with the amount of daylight this time of year. Ours all quit laying also and then went into molt. If yours are looking and acting healthy then I would expect that is the problem. Also might depend on how well they were taken care of while you were gone. If they were allowed to go without water for any length of time then this is a stress issue for them. Anytime there is stress they will usually quit laying.

3. PandoraTaylor

PandoraTaylor RT Poultry n Things

Jun 29, 2009
    Alaska
    how much did your sitter know about your chickens?

Food?
    Water?
    Lighting?
    Treats?
    Freerange?

4. Akane

Akane Overrun With Chickens

Jun 15, 2008