1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Not sure what to do.......

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by juliemom25, Jul 15, 2011.

1. juliemom25

juliemom25 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 4, 2009
    We have 12 black copper maren eggs in our Brinsea incubator. This is our second hatch. Our first hatch went amazingly, with 11 out of 14 shipped eggs hatching (Delewares). I have been pretty disappointed thus far with this batch. I have candled twice and only had a couple I thought were questionably growing. It seemed there was nothing in the rest. I paid good money for these eggs, but was pretty much counting the batch a loss. I know these dark eggs can be hard to see through and I am no expert candler so I was sure to keep the incubator set as it should be until I was sure none would hatch. Yesterday was day 21 (counting from the day we set them) and to my surprise we heard chirping from one little egg. I was so excited, one is better then none. I think I see a line where it is trying to break through, but it is nothing like hatching our Delewares. Our Delewares had a very distinct line with cracked egg around it, this line doesn't even look like the shell is perforated. When I went to bed last night I expected to see the little guy broke through this morning, but there is no change. And I have only heard it peep one time this whole morning. Last night we heard it peeping like every 10 minutes or so. I do not want to lose this chick! What is the best thing to do?

Thank you so much!

Julie

2. TaylorHobbyFarms

TaylorHobbyFarms Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 2, 2010
    Just to clarify, are you counting the day you set the eggs? I always count the next day as day one.

3. juliemom25

Apr 4, 2009